Wednesday, May 24, 2017

Waiting on Wednesday

"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're all eagerly anticipating. 

This week's pre-publication "can't-wait-to-read" selection is:

Monday, May 22, 2017

ARC Review~ The Daughter of the Pirate King


~Review~

This book held me captive as the story unfolded before my eyes. Each character sparked something unique in the plot as well. I will say that certain aspects of the book felt a little predictable and I saw some thing coming however it didn't affect me falling in love with this read. 

Thursday, May 18, 2017

ARC Review~ The Traitors Kiss


~Review~

The Traitor's Kiss by Erin Beaty was a interesting read, when I had heard that it was a Mulan retelling my heart was super excited. I grew up watching Mulan so much that my VHS broke... YES my VHS. Going into reading Traitor's Kiss I was a little worried because before I had received the novel I noticed a lot of people were not content with it, but this book did hold its own. I kept my eyes open, and I did find a couple problematic things, however my overall consensus was that this book was a good read.

Let's start off by discussing the actually story line and the likeness to Mulan. It was interesting to find some comparisons routed in the story, as well as the twists. I think that the story generally followed the idea of of Mulan, with the fact of not wanting to be forced into a marriage and having a strong headed female. As well as the whole idea of a hidden identity played a role in this novel. The one major problematic thing is that this was a white retelling of Mulan with the cultural ideals of that of a Chinese background. So though this was a huge disappointing factor as a reader and lover of Mulan, the rest of the storyline had complexity and coherence as well as a impact on me as a reader.

Wednesday, May 17, 2017

Waiting on Wednesday

"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're all eagerly anticipating. 

This week's pre-publication "can't-wait-to-read" selection is:



One of Us Is Lying is the story of what happens when five strangers walk into detention and only four walk out alive. Everyone is a suspect, and everyone has something to hide.

Pay close attention and you might solve this.

On Monday afternoon, five students at Bayview High walk into detention.

Bronwyn, the brain, is Yale-bound and never breaks a rule.

Addy, the beauty, is the picture-perfect homecoming princess.

Nate, the criminal, is already on probation for dealing.

Cooper, the athlete, is the all-star baseball pitcher.

And Simon, the outcast, is the creator of Bayview High’s notorious gossip app.

Only, Simon never makes it out of that classroom. Before the end of detention Simon's dead. And according to investigators, his death wasn’t an accident. On Monday, he died. But on Tuesday, he’d planned to post juicy reveals about all four of his high-profile classmates, which makes all four of them suspects in his murder. Or are they the perfect patsies for a killer who’s still on the loose?

Everyone has secrets, right? What really matters is how far you would go to protect them.
 


I am super excited for this read because I am definitely getting some major Breakfast Club feels, minus of course that one of them ends up dead. Are you looking forward to reading this book?

Tuesday, May 16, 2017

ARC Review~The Names They Gave Us


~Review~
The Name They Gave Us was a heartbreak I was not prepared for. Emery is amazing at making swoon worthy characters, and this book had it but it also had a deeper surface that was graced. It made my heart hurt. I cried twice over and still managed to fall in love with this book. The characters were amazing, and the story was well planned throughout the entire read. As well the book really did portray a diverse set of characters which allowed for the story being told to have a greater impact on readers.

Sunday, May 7, 2017

The Alchemists of Loom Read/ReRead Along


Hello all! Today I bring you a special post regarding a Read/ReRead along I will be hosting for a book that is dear to my heart. For those of you who are unaware, there is a brilliant fantasy writer by the name of Elise Kova, this July she will be releasing the second book of her LOOM Saga. So to celebrate I teamed up with her to put together a read along. Before I get into the actual details, here is a little bit about the book:
~About the Book~


Title: The Alchemists Loom {Loom Saga #1}
Author: Elise Kova
Publisher: Keymaster Press
Publication Date: January 10th, 2017
Genre: Adult (YA Crossover) High Fantasy, Steampunk
Description: Her vengeance. His vision.

Ari lost everything she once loved when the Five Guilds’ resistance fell to the Dragon King. Now, she uses her unparalleled gift for clockwork machinery in tandem with notoriously unscrupulous morals to contribute to a thriving underground organ market. There isn’t a place on Loom that is secure from the engineer turned thief, and her magical talents are sold to the highest bidder as long as the job defies their Dragon oppressors.

Cvareh would do anything to see his sister usurp the Dragon King and sit on the throne. His family’s house has endured the shame of being the lowest rung in the Dragons’ society for far too long. The Alchemist Guild, down on Loom, may just hold the key to putting his kin in power, if Cvareh can get to them before the Dragon King’s assassins.

When Ari stumbles upon a wounded Cvareh, she sees an opportunity to slaughter an enemy and make a profit off his corpse. But the Dragon sees an opportunity to navigate Loom with the best person to get him where he wants to go.

He offers her the one thing Ari can’t refuse: A wish of her greatest desire, if she brings him to the Alchemists of Loom.


The read along begins on May 8th(tomorrow) and lasts until May 31st. Throughout the weeks running coincide will be a Bonus Content Blog Tour that I will share the schedule with a little later, and an interview blog tour as well (schedule further down in the post.)

Thursday, May 4, 2017

Cover Reveal


Hello every! Unfortunately it's been a long time no see. Finishing up school has presented some struggles, but I can't miss out on the opportunity to post ANOTHER cover reveal for Elise Kova!
Today Elise Kova and Rockstar Book Tours are revealing the cover for THE DRAGONS OF NOVA, which releases July 11, 2017! Check out the gorgeous cover and enter to win assigned ARC of the book!!

CHECK IT OUT!!!!

Monday, April 17, 2017

Author of the Month~April

Hello everyone! It's another new month and with that comes a new Author of the Month. This will consist of a post that includes an interview with the chosen author, along with featuring them in my sidebar for that entire month.  New feature I started on my blog in September (Refer HERE if you would like to see the original post & if you would like to be apart of this as an author).

April's Author is: Tricia Levenseller

Tricia Levenseller is from a small town in Oregon, but she now lives in Utah with her bossy dog, Rosy. She received her degree in English Language and editing, and she is thrilled that she never has to read another textbook again. When she's not writing or reading, Tricia enjoys putting together jigsaw puzzles, playing volleyball, and watching her favorite TV shows while eating extra-buttered popcorn.

Connect with Tricia here:



~Interview Time~
Sabrina: Welcome aboard Tricia! I am so glad to have you here on my blog today.
Tricia: Thanks so much for having me! I’m excited to be here.

Sabrina: Who are 2 authors you look up too?
Tricia: Leigh Bardugo and Rae Carson

Sabrina: How did you know you wanted to be a writer and when did you start writing?
Tricia: Originally, I thought I was going to be an editor. I actually discovered I enjoyed writing on accident. All the seniors in my high school were required to do a 20-hour senior project in which we performed the duties of a job we were considering when we grew up. I couldn’t find text that wasn’t edited to use for my project, so I had to write my own words to edit. I didn’t expect it to be so fun.

Sabrina: Did you spend a lot of time mapping out Daughter of the Pirate King or did it all just come to you?
Tricia: I do a chapter by chapter outline before I start writing any of my books. Before that though, I spend a lot of time just thinking about the project. I let the plot and characters simmer until I feel that I have a good handle on them. DOTPK was the fastest and easiest project I’ve ever written. A lot of it just came to me while I was writing it. I very loosely followed the outline for that book.

Sabrina: Between Alosa and Riden who was the harder one to write?
Tricia: I would have to say Riden. His attachment to his brother annoyed me as much as it did Alosa.

Sabrina: Where did you come up with your character’s names? Did they just come to you, or did you have to think of a way to create them?
Tricia: Alosa is actually a play on my sister’s name: Alisa. I use this technique a lot when coming up with names: I’ll take a conventional name and try switching out or adding letters to make it sound more fantastical. The pirate king’s name is Byronnic, which is a play on Byron. Other times, a name just comes to me, like Niridia’s (Alosa’s first mate). Sometimes I use fantasy name generators and tweak the results with my “swapping letters” trick to get what I want.

Sabrina: What was your favourite element about writing a book about pirates?
Tricia: The aesthetics. There’s just something about sails flapping in the breeze and the spray of the sea misting in your face. The boots and leggings and corsets! Cutlasses and compasses and telescopes. I just think it’s all cool, and I love that I could put all of it in one story.

Sabrina: Which two quotes from Daughter of the Pirate King, are you proud to say that you wrote and came up with?
Tricia: “Some people say you have to find yourself. Not I. I believe we create ourselves to be what we want. Any aspect of ourselves that we do not like can be altered if we make an effort.”

“Do you have any idea how hard it was to find a girl my size to steal those from?”

Sabrina: While writing do you require anything to keep you focused?
Tricia: I prefer absolute quiet. Or white noise.

Sabrina: Who are two YA authors you would want to collab with?
Tricia: Sarah J. Maas and Leigh Bardugo

Sabrina: Can you say anything about book 2 yet? I am dying to know how Riden and Alosa’s story continues.
Tricia: You will get to meet Alosa’s nearly-all female pirate crew!

Sabrina: Thank you so much, Tricia, for allowing me to interview you today. I am by far absolutely in love with Daughter of the Pirate King. This story was absolutely beautiful and filled my soul with happiness for a good pirate read. I can’t wait to talk to you in the future!!
Tricia: Thank you so much for saying so! Thank you again for having me!


Friday, March 24, 2017

ARC review~ The Inexplicable Logic of my Life



~Review~
This book is about finding yourself, finding people in your life who will stick around, and accepting things that mean be out of your control. The Inexplicable Logic of my Life I found was a decent read. It had a wide range of diverse characters that allowed for an entertaining read. Though I had some minor complications with following along with the story. I did however find myself crying every here and there. 

Tuesday, March 14, 2017

OwlCrate Unboxing~ Febuary


Hello readers! Today I bring you another very special post, one I am very excited to share! Last month, I shared with you all my very first Owlcrate unboxing. Today marks my second unboxing.

For those of you who don't know what OwlCrate is, it is a monthly subscription box that includes a new YA release plus merch pertaining around the set theme for that month.

If you want you can check out my other posts:

Friday, March 10, 2017

Guest Post~ Villians



Me and my very dear friend, BookNut decided it would be fun to pump out two guest posts a month for each other. It took around a month to formulate enough ideas to last a while, but I would say we did a pretty good job.

To kick off this new little feature of ours, We chose to do our "Top Three Villains" and why we sometimes applaud them over our swoon protagonists. 

Now without further ado here is her post

Villains. So magnetic, aren’t they? There’s an almost irresistible pull towards them – whether it is to stand and gawk at their wicked antics, or to simply admire the skill with which they manipulate those around them.

But what makes a memorable villain? One of my favourite quotes is by American writer Agnes Repplier, from her magazine article ‘A Short Defense of Villains’.

She wrote: “A villain must be a thing of power, handled with delicacy and grace. He must be wicked enough to excite our aversion, strong enough to arouse our fear, human enough to awaken some transient gleam of sympathy. We must triumph in his downfall, yet not barbarously nor with contempt, and the close of his career must be in harmony with all its previous development.”

Thursday, March 9, 2017

Author of the Month~ March

Hello everyone! It's another new month and with that comes a new Author of the Month. This will consist of a post that includes an interview with the chosen author, along with featuring them in my sidebar for that entire month.  New feature I started on my blog in September (Refer HERE if you would like to see the original post & if you would like to be apart of this as an author).

March's author is E.J. Mellow

E.J. Mellow is the Award Winning author behind the NA Contemporary Fantasy trilogy The Dreamland Series. With a bachelor's degree in Fine Arts, E.J. Mellow splits her time between her two loves – visual design and writing. Residing in NYC, E.J. is a member of Romance Writers of America and their Fantasy, Futuristic & Paranormal Chapter. She has no animals but loves those who do.
Connect with her on:

    

Wednesday, January 11, 2017

Waiting on Wednesday

"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're all eagerly anticipating.

This week's pre-publication "can't-wait-to-read" selection is:

Tuesday, January 10, 2017

RoseBlood Release Blitz


I am so excited that ROSEBLOOD by A.G. Howard releases today and that I get to share the news!
If you haven’t yet heard about this wonderful book by Author A.G. Howard, be sure to check out all the details below.

This blitz also includes a giveaway for a signed ROSEBLOOD poster and a mask courtesy of A.G. and Rockstar Book Tours. So if you’d like a chance to win, enter in the Rafflecopter at the bottom of this post.

Thursday, January 5, 2017

Owlcrate Unboxing~ December


Hello readers! Today I bring you another very special post, one I am very excited to share! Last month, I shared with you all my very first Owlcrate unboxing. Today marks my second unboxing.


For those of you who don't know what OwlCrate is, it is a monthly subscription box that includes a new YA release plus merch pertaining around the set theme for that month. 

If you want you can check out my other posts:






This months theme was Epic, I didn't get a picture of it, however with the theme card came a little pin to match it 










Within each Owlcrate was a mystery mini funko pop from the Harry Potter series. I was super excited to see which one I would receive. I got Hagrid, which I was very excited about because I absolutely adore him.


The next thing I unboxed, or well the next two things I unboxed were Game of Throne house coasters from Dark Horse Comical, and a Lord of the Rings book pin from Jane Mount


The next thing I unboxed was a greeting card from Susanne Draus, inspired by The Chronicles of  Narnia, and a stunning sticker with a quote from A Darker Shade of Magic, designed by Miss Phi


The book for this month was Of Fire and Stars by Audrey  Coulthurst, and I was very excited to see this in the box because I was super excited to read this book and get my hands on it.

Overall the box was wonderful this month and I look forward to January's box which is Classic Remix!

Did you enjoy this month's unboxing?

Wednesday, January 4, 2017

Waiting on Wednesday [14]


"Waiting On" Wednesday is a weekly event, hosted by Breaking the Spine, that spotlights upcoming releases that we're all eagerly anticipating. 


This week's pre-publication "can't-wait-to-read" selection is:



In this modern day spin on Leroux’s gothic tale of unrequited love turned to madness, seventeen-year-old Rune Germain has a mysterious affliction linked to her operatic talent, and a horrifying mistake she’s trying to hide. Hoping creative direction will help her, Rune’s mother sends her to a French arts conservatory for her senior year, located in an opera house rumored to have ties to The Phantom of the Opera. 

At RoseBlood, Rune secretly befriends the masked Thorn—an elusive violinist who not only guides her musical transformation through dreams that seem more real than reality itself, but somehow knows who she is behind her own masks. As the two discover an otherworldly connection and a soul-deep romance blossoms, Thorn’s dark agenda comes to light and he’s forced to make a deadly choice: lead Rune to her destruction, or face the wrath of the phantom who has haunted the opera house for a century, and is the only father he’s ever known.


Sometimes our enemies are also our only allies…

After an explosion destroys his ship, the world believes Prince Merik, Windwitch, is dead. Scarred yet alive, Merik is determined to prove his sister’s treachery. Upon reaching the royal capital, crowded with refugees, he haunts the streets, fighting for the weak—which leads to whispers of a disfigured demigod, the Fury, who brings justice to the oppressed.

When the Bloodwitch Aeduan discovers a bounty on Iseult, he makes sure to be the first to find her—yet in a surprise twist, Iseult offers him a deal. She will return money stolen from him, if he locates Safi. Now they must work together to cross the Witchlands, while constantly wondering, who will betray whom first?

After a surprise attack and shipwreck, Safi and the Empress of Marstok barely escape with their lives. Alone in a land of pirates, every moment balances on a knife’s edge—especially when the pirates’ next move could unleash war upon the Watchbands.


Her vengeance. His vision.

Ari lost everything she once loved when the Five Guilds’ resistance fell to the Dragon King. Now, she uses her unparalleled gift for clockwork machinery in tandem with notoriously unscrupulous morals to contribute to a thriving underground organ market. There isn’t a place on Loom that is secure from the engineer turned thief, and her magical talents are sold to the highest bidder as long as the job defies their Dragon oppressors.

Cvareh would do anything to see his sister usurp the Dragon King and sit on the throne. His family’s house has endured the shame of being the lowest rung in the Dragons’ society for far too long. The Alchemist Guild, down on Loom, may just hold the key to putting his kin in power, if Cvareh can get to them before the Dragon King’s assassins.

When Ari stumbles upon a wounded Cvareh, she sees an opportunity to slaughter an enemy and make a profit off his corpse. But the Dragon sees an opportunity to navigate Loom with the best person to get him where he wants to go.

He offers her the one thing Ari can’t refuse: A wish of her greatest desire, if she brings him to the Alchemists of Loom.


I had to share these three, because I am SO looking forward to these. ARE you looking forward to any of these books?

Tuesday, January 3, 2017

Author of The Month~ January


Hello everyone! It's another new month and with that comes a new Author of the Month. This will consist of a post that includes an interview with the chosen author, along with featuring them in my sidebar for that entire month.  New feature I started on my blog in September (Refer HERE if you would like to see the original post & if you would like to be apart of this as an author).

This author I have had once on my blog before back when this feature first started. Since then She has become a USA Bestselling author and has finished one complete series. She has a new book coming out Jan 10th...

January's author is Elise Kova

Monday, January 2, 2017

The Alchemists of Loom by Elise Kova ~Blog tour & Interview


Hello everyone! Today I am very excited to share with you all that I am apart of The Alchemists of Loom blog tour hosted by Rockstar Blog Tours. This tour spans over the next two weeks and has an exclusive giveaway for one hardcover copy and 3 swag packs. Check out the tour stops to see how to enter.

For my tour stop today I will be sharing with you all an exclusive interview with two of the main characters from The Alchemists of Loom. Cvareh and Ari.

Now before we get to the interview, here's a little bit about LOOM

~About the Book~


Title: The Alchemists Loom {Loom Saga #1}
Author: Elise Kova
Publisher: Keymaster Press
Publication Date: January 10th, 2017
Genre: Adult (YA Crossover) High Fantasy, Steampunk
Description: Her vengeance. His vision.

Ari lost everything she once loved when the Five Guilds’ resistance fell to the Dragon King. Now, she uses her unparalleled gift for clockwork machinery in tandem with notoriously unscrupulous morals to contribute to a thriving underground organ market. There isn’t a place on Loom that is secure from the engineer turned thief, and her magical talents are sold to the highest bidder as long as the job defies their Dragon oppressors.

Cvareh would do anything to see his sister usurp the Dragon King and sit on the throne. His family’s house has endured the shame of being the lowest rung in the Dragons’ society for far too long. The Alchemist Guild, down on Loom, may just hold the key to putting his kin in power, if Cvareh can get to them before the Dragon King’s assassins.

When Ari stumbles upon a wounded Cvareh, she sees an opportunity to slaughter an enemy and make a profit off his corpse. But the Dragon sees an opportunity to navigate Loom with the best person to get him where he wants to go.

He offers her the one thing Ari can’t refuse: A wish of her greatest desire, if she brings him to the Alchemists of Loom.

Now it's time for the interview...
Sabrina: Hello Ari and Cvareh, it's truly a pleasure to have you both on my blog today for a special little interview!
Ari: Let’s keep this quick and efficient.
Cvareh: Sabrina thank you so much for having us. It is an absolute delight to be here. And may I just say you’re looking lovely today? The cut of your blouse is so flattering, so very in this season.

Sabrina: What did you two think of each other when you first met?
Ari: What else can one think of a Dragon? They come down without having any understanding of our society and dictated how they think we should live… I thought the same thing I think about all Dragons I see—fresh organs.
Cvareh: She hardly made a good first impression with all her attacking and, “I’m going to cut out your heart” insistence. But she did seem like someone who wasn’t going to be deterred by the King’s Riders after me.

Sabrina: What is one of your most fondest memories?
Ari: When Florence and I found our hideaway in Old Dortam. I remember it because it was the moment where I saw her beginning to come out of her shell and relax into being my pupil. All the potential she had and hopefulness to learn.
Cvareh: Sparring with my sister in the old Xin estate in Napole when we were children. She would always get the upper hand on me, but I always enjoyed our time together.
Sabrina: From getting to know each other, what is one of your favourite traits about the other, and your least favourite?
Ari: Least favorite is easy. It would be exceptional if Cvareh could be less of a Dragon and truly be logical and upfront, less flowery language.
Cvareh: My favorite about Arianna… Wait, Ari, you never said your favorite.
Ari: I know.
Cvareh: Are you—
Ari: Next question, please.

Sabrina: if you could describe yourself in three words, what would they be?
Ari: Rebel. Loyal. Logical.
Cvareh: Fashionable. Classy… and I’ll say loyal too.
Ari: A loyal Dragon? I’ll believe it when I see it…

Sabrina: if you could use any weapon, what would be your weapon of choice?
Ari: My teachings and knowledge. I can defeat far more enemies with my intellect with that than any gun or bow or armory on Loom or Nova.
Cvareh: My claws. Any Dragon is only as good as their claws.

Sabrina: it's been a pleasure interviewing the both of you!
Ari: You as well. If I may say one more thing, it’s that I want all of your Fenthri and Chimera readers to know that they are powerful of their own merits—to never forget who we are. In that remembrance we find power and authenticity to revolt against the Dragons to prosper and survive.
Cvareh: It’s been an absolute delight! Should you ever find yourself on Nova, seek out House Xin. I would be more than happy to personally show you around Napole.

Now that concludes my tour stop.. check the schedule below to see who's blog to travel to next!

Week 1:
1/2/2017- Beyond the Book ReviewsInterview
1/3/2017- Emily Reads EverythingReview
1/4/2017- Once Upon A TwilightExcerpt
1/5/2017- NovelKnightReview
1/6/2017- Two Chicks on BooksInterview

Week 2:
1/9/2017- Zach's YA ReviewsReview
1/10/2017- A Gingerly ReviewExcerpt
1/11/2017- Always MeReview
1/12/2017- BookHounds YA- Interview
1/13/2017- Lost in Ever AfterReview